I’m the worst blogger ever

Shut up.

But you’re right, I am. I can’t believe I spend as many hours a day as I do on the interweb, and have never heard Chocolate Rain until today, when Shakes linked to it while showing this:

First: “I move my mouth away from the mic to breathe in,” as I mentioned over there, is a ridiculously good line; I don’t care that it’s actually completely literal. That shit should be on t-shirts.

Second: Tay Zonday has the greatest voice since Kool Moe Dee.

I have become enthusiastic. I think I’m replacing the Airwolf theme with that piano loop for my ringtone.

UPDATE: I forgot to mention – he released the mp3 on a CC license! That’s real.

Also, I admire Tay’s iron determination to avoid anything that even looks like a chorus. Or a verse, I guess, depending on what angle you’re looking at the song from.

4 thoughts on “I’m the worst blogger ever

  1. pedro

    I watched the video and I was like “what the hell is steve talking about? This guy’s voice is great and some lyrics are great….but it’s an advertisement for Dr. Pepper! WTF?”

    Then I watched the original that this advert covered and now I fully understand. Solid lyrics and a crazy-ass voice. I fully admit I downloaded the song.

    On a separate note, what the fuck is going on with Dr. Pepper? It used to be that the cola wars were between the big two, but this wee company out of Texas is putting out ads and flavors (in diet and only diet!) that folks adore! They’re making the big two look absolutely silly…especially when it comes to advertising. The big two just look like fat slow moving ogres still obsessed with celebrity and “witty” liners to sell…they don’t’ seem to see that it’s shit like Cherry Chocolate Rain that sells drinks.

    A sidenote to the sidenote…Youtube comments fill me with a deep sadness for humanity.

  2. Steve

    It’s not just the deep voice, it’s that deep-ass voice coming out of such a slight, vaguely androgynous guy. And he has that nerdy combination of earnestness and self-awareness that I always find charming. I want people to back dumptrucks full of money up to Tay Zonday’s house precisely because he’s the complete opposite of any entertainer who’d get onto TV.

    Cherry chocolate Dr. Pepper sounds kind of delicious to me. Is it really only in diet? That would make me sad. The big two kind of are dinosaurs; the benefit of not being on top is that you have more room to take risks. If you’re already number one, you don’t want to fuck with the formula that got you there, while at the same time being deathly afraid that if you make a wrong move you won’t be number one anymore.

    Oh, and re: your last paragraph –

  3. Eric

    “The big two kind of are dinosaurs; the benefit of not being on top is that you have more room to take risks. If you’re already number one, you don’t want to fuck with the formula that got you there, while at the same time being deathly afraid that if you make a wrong move you won’t be number one anymore.”

    Are we still talking cola? This seems like the American political system in a nutshell?

Comments are closed.