“In fact,” said Romney, “I’m wearing a General Products hairpiece right now.”

So it looks like Mitt Romney loves the SF. I enjoy an evening spent with some fantastic narrative myself, so I can relate. I can’t say I’d choose the same favorite novel as Romney, but that’s only because a) I haven’t read Battlefield Earth and b) I have read novels other than Battlefield Earth.

I also can’t say I’d consult an Orson Scott Card novel to verify information I’m giving in a speech about the activities of people in foreign lands, but what the hell? In terms of having a factually accurate picture of the state of the world, a President who gets his research from space books by Orson Scott Card is probably a step up from one who gets it from the PNAC.

One thought on ““In fact,” said Romney, “I’m wearing a General Products hairpiece right now.”

  1. pedro

    Right now, my favorite SF novel would have to be A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge. Damn good.

    My least favorite? Battlefield Earth. Gods. That was awful.

Comments are closed.