We are FOR feminism and decency; we are AGAINST dipshittery.

I know the name Jill Filipovic because she’s O.G. Feministe (not O.G. O.G. Feministe, but she’s been down from, like, day two). Anyway, she’s a good and thoughtful writer and feminist who’s periodically had to put up with sub-asshole Internet behavior from the kind of people who could make Jesus consider misanthropy, because that’s apparently how you become a gentleman. So:

This is a crosspost to effect a Googlebomb, correcting an injustice against a fellow feminist blogger.

Jill Filipovic, who blogs at Feministe and Ms. JD, is a NYU law student who has been the subject of cyber-obsession on a discussion board allegedly populated by law students. The discussions regarding Jill Filipovic (and many other female law students) are sexist and sexual in nature, rating the women’s physical attractiveness and fantasising about sexual contact, both consensual and non-consensual. Neither Jill Filipovic or any other of these women contributed, or gave their permission to be discussed, to the discussion board in question.

Jill Filopovic‘s name and class routines etc have been regularly posted to this board, and at least one of the pseudonymous board-members claims to be Jill Filipovic‘s classmate. Photos that Jill Filipovic posted (with full rights reserved) to an interent photo-storing and sharing site have also been posted to the sleazy discussion board without her permission. This is a horrendous invasion of Jill Filipovic‘s privacy, a violation of copyright law, and calls the ethics and character of the alleged law-students participating in these discussions on the discussion board into question.

A major side-effect of an already nasty situation is that the sexist, objectifying cyber-obsession threads come up on the first page of internet search results on Jill Filipovic‘s name. To an inexperienced user of the internet, it may even look as if Jill Filipovic and other female law students chose to compete in these Hot or Not rating competitions, instead of having their pictures posted without permission.

This post is an attempt to balance those internet results to point to the significant writings of Jill Filipovic instead, using the Googlebomb tactic and also linking this post to social networking sites (eg. del.ici.ous, Stumbleupon). Please feel free to copy any or all of what I’ve written here to your own blog in order to help change the top-ranked search engine results for Jill Filipovic. If you don’t have your own blog then please at least link to one of Jill’s this post[s] listed below at your preferred social networking site and give it the tag “Filipovic” (as well as any others you think appropriate).

I have linked to these sites in this post:
Jill Filipovic‘s bio page at Feministe
Jill Filipovic‘s blog posts at the Ms. JD blog
Jill Filipovic‘s article about these scummy lawschool sleazebags at Feministe
Jill Filipovic‘s article at Ms. JD: When Law Student’s Attack

If any of the other female law students stalked by the same sleazy site wish to copy this text with names altered, you hereby have my full permission to do so. All other rights reserved. (C) 2007 tigtog

UPDATE: Christ, maybe some links to some originals are in order? Anyway: Finally, a Feminism 101 Blog, via Chris Clarke.

33 thoughts on “We are FOR feminism and decency; we are AGAINST dipshittery.

  1. Ananth

    Booring… As much as I don’t condone this kind of behavior, this happens in some form by the left as much as the right, though more likely than not this may be more personal in nature, probably annoying someone in her class.

    This is the price one must pay, I suppose for presenting ones opinions in the public sphere, fair or not.

  2. Steve

    Left? Right? Who said anything about American party politics?

    This is the price one must pay, I suppose for presenting ones opinions in the public sphere, fair or not.

    “She was asking for it! Look how her blog is dressed!”

  3. Steve

    Who’s shocked? Misogyny, entitlement, and hatefulness you will always have with you.

    But to be shocked that people who put themselves in the public eye are then suddenly burned by the same tools that they have used to promote their opinions is akin to a celebrity complaining about the pictures of them drunk, but at the same time demanding the paparazzi at their premiere.

    Attending law school while female is now considered “put[ting] themselves in the public eye?”

  4. Ananth

    Is that what I said? People put stuff out on the “Interwebs” for everyone to see. They make comments about things both public and private. Sometimes they make comments on things that are even personal. This opens yourself up for those kind of attacks.

    I didn’t say she deserved it. I didn’t even say she shouldn’t do anything about it. This is a completely fair and ethical way to counter act whatever has transpired. But to be shocked that people who put themselves in the public eye are then suddenly burned by the same tools that they have used to promote their opinions is akin to a celebrity complaining about the pictures of them drunk, but at the same time demanding the paparazzi at their premiere.

    I was making a political party comment, I was merely saying that is kind of shit happens all the time on the web. Someone photoshops pictures of Harry’s fiance on Ain’t it cool news. someone else writes about how it wouldn’t be at tragedy if something happened to a blogger’s child. It is both the strength and curse of the Internet that people feel the power and freedom of being anonymous.

  5. Ananth

    Dude, are you just trying to be contrarian for contrarians sake… My understanding of this, is that this was directed at the law student because she was a blogger on feministe, which is what put her in the public eye. If that is not the case, and it is instead simply people talking dirty about a girl on a forum, this is no different than locker room talk, that happened to be over indexed on google for some reason.

  6. Steve

    Additionally, in the name of heaven, read the links before you comment, will ya? Your understanding of the situation is, in a word, wrong.

  7. Steve

    What does novelty have to do with anything? Asshole misogyny is as old as the hills, and has been asshole misogyny the whole time.

    Read this, including the comments, for the story.

  8. Ananth

    I tried to.. I got all sorts of unauthorized errors…

    So her law school has a bunch of creepy guys in it. that’s nothing new. the fact that they are stupid and put it in forums.. probably more new.

  9. Steve

    Not for nothing, but how does that have anything to do with anything? A woman can be old, young, ugly, pretty, smart, dumb, feminist, patriarchal, tall, short, whatever – and men will talk about her sexually because that keeps her in her place.

  10. Ananth

    is that why men talk sexually about women? I thought men talked sexually about woman because, you know, we like sex. I think you are reading too much into the oppression of woman as some kind of master plan by men.

  11. Tom

    I’ve got basic problems with the whole ‘copywright’ of pictures you post on the web. I mean, sure, you own them. But, you’re sort of a dumbass for complaining about them appearing elsewhere.

    I think the guys are dicks, and what they’re doing might be technically illegal, but I don’t think it should be illegal.

    If I leave my store unlocked and unattended and ask everyone to go in and mail me a check if they take anything, well, I’m a moron.

    I don’t think by any means she was asking for it, but I think there’s a risk when you put personal info on the web, as you’ve said yourself about blogging under your own name. Things like that are precisely why you know you shouldn’t, because people can be dicks.

  12. Steve

    If I leave my store unlocked and unattended and ask everyone to go in and mail me a check if they take anything, well, I’m a moron.

    I don’t think by any means she was asking for it, but I think there’s a risk when you put personal info on the web, as you’ve said yourself about blogging under your own name.

    “I don’t think she was asking for it, but what did she expect, inviting it like that?”

  13. Ananth

    you can complain about the world we live in, or deal with the reality of things. I mean, I should be able to walk down any street at any time I want to. But if got mugged walking down MLK blvd in Baltimore at 3 in the morning I shouldn’t be shocked. People have to take some reasonable to steps to protect themselves in this world

  14. Steve

    I think Steve has a crush on someone…

    Just don’t tell Tom, ’cause I don’t want things to get awkward in the comments here.

  15. Nicole

    You need some lady opinions up in this piece. I disagree wholeheartedly it is the price one pays for putting their opinions on the internet. However, by that same token, if you are going to blog or write or talk or use sign language under your own name, you do have to be prepared for criticism and/or praise, which unfortunately, in this case, came in the form of stupid jackasses. This young lady was not asking for it. But at the same time, as a woman, I know that if I wear a tight, low-cut shirt, the ladies are going to get a lot of attention. In the same way that if I post something under my own name that states an opinion, it might get some attention too. But it doesn’t make it right. Steve, you’re looking for some sort of feminist utopian ideal that doesn’t exist…

  16. Eric

    Saying something is “the price one must pay” in essence condones it. Am I more likely to get mugged in Harlem than Trumbull. Yeah, but in either location a criminal act has still occurred and a violation of my rights.

    The boys will be boys response is pretty weak. I like boobies and I sneak glances all the time, but not once have I ever walked over and honked a stranger’s melon.

    Anyway, there are lots of shitty things in the world I ignore every day. I appreciate when people get fired up about those shitty things I’ve accepted as status quo. I’m not surprised by guys posting sexual comments, but that doesn’t mean I should accept or tolerate it.

  17. pedro

    All this has done is make me want to set up a “T14 Hottest Steve Siwy” website and let the world decide who’s the sexiest Steve Siwy around. I have my favorite. Do you???

  18. Steve

    Nicole, thanks for your lady opinion. I’m very sure Jill, who has been writing online for a few years now, has no illusions about the kind of shit you can get from random dickheads online. However, most of the women so harassed are not feminist bloggers, columnists, or any other type of public figure, no matter how broadly defined. They’re just law students who had the nerve to leave their houses wearing their breasts. Just because it’s not shocking that people get murdered in Detroit doesn’t make murders any more acceptable, y’know? I don’t think it’s particularly utopian to acknowledge that.

    Eric, you and I are in agreement, I think.

    Pedro, I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.

  19. Ananth

    Your comparison to murders in Detroit is not the same. This is more akin to having you car broken into in a bad neighborhood. Yes a crime was committed. Yes the police do not condone it. And if you have insurance and enough was stolen or damaged that it would be worth filing a claim, they will even file a report. But past that, they aren’t going to spend a lot of time hunting down the perpetrators of this crime. It is kind of Utopian to think all transgressions are equal and rise to the level of give a shit. When you take care of the real problems women face in the world, I think then you can worry about guys having locker room chat in forums. That’s all I am saying.

  20. Steve

    When you take care of the real problems women face in the world, I think then you can worry about guys having locker room chat in forums.

    Here that, ladies? Be sure you get Ananth’s permission in advance next time before you decide what you think is wrong.

  21. Tom

    I wish we could post pics in comments, I think we could get a great ‘hot or not’ of Steve up in this piece. I have many a Steve pic stored on various websites.

  22. Graham

    I am for both. I am well versed in the latter. And the whole reason this makes it more “wild” is that she’s a feminist blogger. I know this asshattery happens every day, and no it’s not right. Many things happen everyday that aren’t right. But there is some sort of delicious irony that these clowns decided to do this to her. Most women would be angry or embarassed. But rarely will you get indignant, and that is what gives this story, and your comments section, legs.

Comments are closed.