I would totally set a whole choir on fire. I would.

Belledame posted a Friday git-yer-groove-on, blessing us whose asses may otherwise tragically have remained stationary with some Sneaker Pimps and some Goldfrapp. Good citizenship demanded that I contribute, but then I got to mining YouTube, and couldn’t stop clicking on the Golden Age hip-hop. Well. I must be who I am.

Burn, Hollywood, Burn (Someday, I swear, I’m going to buy a copy of Black Caesar so that I can truthfully tell someone I’ve got it at the crib.)

Scenario

Punks Jump Up to Get Beat Down

Chief Rocka

93 Til Infinity

Throw Ya Gunz

The Choice is Yours

Passing Me By

Oneofthebigboys (I brought the Kwame. You didn’t think I would, but I did. With regard to that, I’ve been operating under the apparently mistaken belief that every time I yell, “Two times! Uh! Uh!” I’m referencing this video. Clearly, I’m not. Does anyone remember what that’s from? Eric?)

…and just to prove that I have listened to beats made in the last ten years

Positive Contact

5 thoughts on “I would totally set a whole choir on fire. I would.

  1. Steve

    That video you linked a while ago, of MC Lyte showing the kids how it’s done at that awards show? That’s what I’m talkin’ about.

  2. Eric

    Thank you Steve. My beatus hasn’t been boomin like that in years.

    And I hate to burst your bubble, but I think we made that up. I know exactly what you’re talking about and I don’t remember the exact origin, but the only thing I could think of was this Hammer song (a little over a minute in).

  3. Steve

    And I hate to burst your bubble, but I think we made that up.

    NO!

    Seriously, I had this image in my mind of a gentleman humping the stage as he did the “Uh! Uh!” but I was totally remembering Hammer at the VMAs doing “Let’s Get It Started.” That man’s beatus was so perpetually boomin that it remains in my mind to this day.

    I’m not crazy, though. That “Two times!” business did not start with us. The “Uh!” part was a James Brown sample, as was everything in those days that wasn’t a P-Funk sample.

    Was it Hammer? Why would we both remember the boomin beatus in connection with it, if not? I think you’re onto something. I think it was Hammer at the VMAs.

Comments are closed.