If you never say your name out loud to anyone, they can never ever call you by it

I have a theme in my head, and this Regina Spektor video is one illustration of it (said theme has nothing to do with the title of this post, except in the ways that it does).

Apart from my metaphysic, I would like additionally to link you to another Regina Spektor song, Better, which rocks my socks in a similar manner to Tegan and Sara’s “Take Me Anywhere.”

Also, this. Patrick Nielsen Hayden calls it one of the most beautiful pieces of music of our age, and I want to agree with him. I read somewhere that people love bowed string instruments so much because they most closely approximate the sound of the human voice, which seems totally true to me except when I’m humming the saxophone parts of Morphine songs.

7 thoughts on “If you never say your name out loud to anyone, they can never ever call you by it

  1. pedro

    I can’t believe you called me ’emo’. I’m not saying that Regina isn’t fucking awesome and I didn’t just add her to my xmas list, but I’m just saying. Having Irun&Whine in my ipod could not possibly be a crime in the musical court of Steve…your court is full of soulful women singing songs of woeful heartbreak!

    You could not be MORE emo, you mournful bastard!

  2. pedro

    Also I listened to that Fantasia jam while working. Tears came unbidden. WTF are you doing to me, Steve? I’m a blubbering pool of emotional waste-product now!!!

    It doesn’t help that this is the first day in 5 years of working that I actually feel overwhelmed, but still. WTF?

  3. Tom

    Damn.

    I really wanted to call you and Pedro a couple of pussies but that song is really, really good.

    Damn.

    At first I detected hints of Bjorkishness, which typically blinds me with rage, but then I decided I wanted to give her babies.

  4. Ananth

    Listen, I am not a huge fan of emo, (unless accomanying the commercials for an overly gory game.), but judge not lest be judged yourself or something like that. I know for a fact that if it was possible Steve would carry Tori Amos’ baby, and therefore can not make fun of Pedro.

  5. Eric

    Some guys like chicks, some guys like dudes. No need start any name calling. Though I’m fully in Steve’s corner of lovin the ladies.

  6. Ananth

    damn it. now that song is going to be stuck in my head… You know how many Locust it will take me to kill to get it out?

Comments are closed.