How the fuck did I not know..?

In my travels in Intarspace, I frequently come across news that is no longer news,* and am astonished that I’ve made it this many years into my life without encountering this information until now.

I have two from this week:

First, while reading the CNN obituary for Gerald Levert, I discovered that he did a supergroup album nearly a decade ago with Johnny Gill and Keith Sweat.** Holy shit. How could this possibly have escaped my notice for that long? I can’t even fathom the seductive power that must be contained in such a work. It must be like musical Spanish Fly. Jesus.

Second, while reading the ISB, I discovered that William Shatner did a cover of Pulp’s “Common People” for his Has Been album. Again, where the fuck have I been?

Cultural tardiness like this makes me impressed with myself for having come across Yacht Rock only a few months after it ended.

*Number one on the list of “news that is no longer news,” by the way? Just for my brothers and sisters devoted to street-corner pamphleteering? The Good News. He’s been dead for two thousand years, kids. It’s really, really not news anymore.

**His real name!

5 thoughts on “How the fuck did I not know..?

  1. pedro

    William Shatner’s cover of Common People is the absolute best thing he’s ever done. EVAR. I can’t believe you didn’t know about it.

    In fact, I’m sort of ashamed for you. ASHAMED.

  2. Steve

    I’m also ashamed of myself for having slept on Shatner’s album this long. I knew it was good, and I did nothing.

  3. Ananth

    Keith Sweat and Johnny Gill? Does that album come with a warning about panties spontaneously dropping?

    On a completely unrelated note, did you see the Spiderman 3 trailer? So awesome, I can’t even put into words. Also look on youtube for the Comic con trailer which is different but shows VENOM at the end…. Even more awesome.

  4. Steve

    Dropping? Combusting.

    I have seen the trailer, off of Oliver Willis’s site, and it is supergreat. I’ll check for the one with Venom.

  5. Tom

    It troubles me to even write it but yes, William Shatner’s cover of Common People could even be described as haunting. No shit.

Comments are closed.