VOTE!

Vote vote vote!

Then keep your fingers crossed. Because even if the Democrats can overcome vote suppression, “spoilage,” disenfranchisement, and rigged/malfunctioning electronic voting machines* (which never, ever seem to malfunction to the Democrats’ advantage, do they?), and get enough votes counted to take both houses of Congress, that’s just the beginning.

If the voters manage to get the Democrats into power in Congress despite all that, next comes the cataclysmic fight to the death. Bush disregards the Republican-controlled legislature at his whim, so it’s not like he’s suddenly going to acknowledge Congress’s authority if it’s now Democrat-controlled. The Pontificate of the Church of the Unitary Executive will not be checked, and you know they’ll force a Contitutional showdown if Congress starts exercising any oversight, while the Scaife Army spreads out across the news networks to roll their eyes to the heavens and wonder why, oh why, Democrats must be so shrill, partisan, and obstructionist.

Which is fine. Let ’em. Bush is at sub-Nixon approval ratings, which have thus far proved to be fairly unbudgable. As the Gang of 500 struts and frets about the state of politics rather than the state of the nation, declares Democrats shrill when the criticize Republicans and weak when they don’t, and wonders whether each new “war of words,” “shocking development,” or “explosive revelation” will hurt the Democrats and help Republicans, we have a civil society to rebuild.

So go vote. If you’ve already voted, thanks. If we’re fortunate, the real work will start tomorrow.

*via

11 thoughts on “VOTE!

  1. Eric

    It’s all about knowing your audience. Steve knows it’s about 10-1 Democrat so he can seem patriot and un-partisan by just saying vote and then have a friend/relative out of the limelight do his dirty work for him. So if you’re asking… stay home. I’ve been legally tapping your phones w/o a warrant and I have all the info I need (ie-none) to snatch you from your home, ship you off to Syria, and waterboard the beejeezus out of you.

  2. Tom

    Yeah, and Steve, I lost my copy of your plan. Which one of us was in charge of the electrodes on the nutsack? I hope it wasn’t me.

  3. Ananth

    Thats god(s), plural. Actually I couldn’t vote in this election. Jim Webb doesn’t offend me enough that him winning is the end of the world, and George Allen is just a schmuck, so I couldn’t vote for him. I don’t like Webb enough to vote for him. My feelign though, is that Webb is much more of a republican in democrats clothing than you guys think. If he wins, I am pretty sure he will feel Kos’ wrath soon.

  4. Ananth

    i don’t think its news. I am just pretty sure that he will be drawing the ire of the Kossacks very soon, once you get over you giddiness and or depression.

  5. Steve

    Actually shouldn’t your real call to arms read VOTE, DEMOCRAT (or else stay home)!

    You vote, too. If you vote Republican, that’s between you and your god.

  6. Steve

    Which one of us was in charge of the electrodes on the nutsack? I hope it wasn’t me.

    I put Jen in charge of the nut-shocking, since she probably knows from electrical stuff from spending all that time on film sets. You’re in charge of cock-punches. Eric’s already tipped his hand as the SIGINT guy.

  7. Steve

    Thats god(s), plural.

    So it is. Apologies.

    My feelign though, is that Webb is much more of a republican in democrats clothing than you guys think.

    He used to be a Republican until very recently. Then his party was taken over by people who would make the John Birch society blush, and he switched. I don’t know why you think this is news or something.

  8. Steve

    I am just pretty sure that he will be drawing the ire of the Kossacks very soon, once you get over you giddiness and or depression.

    No doubt. And I have no doubt he won’t be the only one.

    It’s only you Republicans who hero-worship your politicians. :)

  9. Ananth

    I only hero worship Batman! I just never bought into not Republican/Democratic enough arguement, or that we could get a more liberal/conservative candidate to replace our incumbent…. It seemes to have worked wonders for everyone….

Comments are closed.